Side (Background)
Side (Background)

Ghana Premier League Match day 24 Preview Liberty Professionals vs Ashantigold SC

Ghana Premier League Match day 24 Preview Liberty Professionals vs Ashantigold SC
Spread the love

Make or break clash for both sides as relegation stares them in the face

 

The exciting Ghana Premier League continues to gather momentum as it enters its match day 24 this weekend.

 

The title race and relegation battles are getting keener as the league enters its last phase.

At the Dansoman Carl Reindorf park, Liberty Professionals will play aa hosts to Ashantigold SC in a match which could best be dubbed as a survival match.

Pressure is gradually mounting on Coach Michael Osei as his Liberty side have failed to record a single win in the their last three premier league outings,with the recent one being a defeat at the Wa park.

 

Ashgold have been the best side in the second round of the league,but were shocked by a determined Sharks side last weekend when they beat the miners 2-1.

 

The defeats to both sides served as a wakening call to both sides as they have to content with the fact that they are now relegation threatened and both sides must fight to retain their status as Premier league clubs next season.

 

This match could easily be termed as the game of week for the bad reasons this time because both sides are battling relegation. Its a must win for both sides come Sunday.

 

Liberty have a full house of players available for this crunch encounter with the only absentee being Desmond Agbesi who is still recuperating from an injury he suffered at the beginning of the season.

 

Ashgold are also sweating on the fitness of their game changer Amis Addai who got injured in the Sharks defeat.

 

The Carl Reindorf park wilk be boiling on Sunday as the journey to surviving relegation starts with tacticians Michael Osei and C.K.Akunnor set to showcase their technical prowess.

 

PLAYERS TO WATCH; LIBERTY PROFESSIONALS: Samuel Sarfo,Simon Zibo and Richard Kissi Boateng

 

Ashantigold SC; George Owu, Theophilus Nyame and Prince Owusu.

LAST FIVE MATCHES IN THE LEAGUE

Sun 25/06/17 PRL Great Olympics 0 – 1 Liberty Profes…
Wed 28/06/17 PRL Liberty Profes… 3 – 0 Bolga All Stars
Sun 09/07/17 PRL Aduana Stars 2 – 1 Liberty Profes…
Wed 12/07/17 PRL Liberty Profes… 0 – 1 Elmina Sharks
Sun 16/07/17 PRL Wa All Stars 2 – 1 Liberty Profes…

LAST FIVE MATCHES IN THE LEAGUE

Fri 09/06/17 PRL Medeama 0 – 1 Ashanti Gold
Sun 25/06/17 PRL Ashanti Gold 3 – 0 Inter Allies
Wed 28/06/17 PRL Hearts of Oak 0 – 1 Ashanti Gold
Wed 12/07/17 PRL Bolga All Stars 0 – 2 Ashanti Gold
Sun 16/07/17 PRL Ashanti Gold 1 – 2 Elmina Sharks

MATCHES BETWEEN THE TWO

TOTAL MATCHES 21

Wed 15/03/17 PRL Ashanti Gold 1 – 0 Liberty Profes…
Wed 17/08/16 PRL Ashanti Gold 2 – 0 Liberty Profes…
Sun 03/04/16 PRL Liberty Profes… 5 – 1 Ashanti Gold
Sun 02/08/15 PRL Ashanti Gold 1 – 0 Liberty Profes…
Sat 07/02/15 PRL Liberty Profes… 0 – 1 Ashanti Gold
Sun 01/06/14 PRL Liberty Profes… 0 – 1 Ashanti Gold
Sun 22/09/13 PRL Ashanti Gold 2 – 0 Liberty Profes…
Wed 29/05/13 PRL Ashanti Gold 2 – 0 Liberty Profes…
Sun 21/10/12 PRL Liberty Profes… 0 – 0 Ashanti Gold
Sun 29/04/12 PRL Liberty Profes… 3 – 1 Ashanti Gold
Sun 06/11/11 PRL Ashanti Gold 0 – 0 Liberty Profes…
Mon 02/05/11 PRL Ashanti Gold 2 – 0 Liberty Profes…
Sun 03/10/10 PRL Liberty Profes… 2 – 0 Ashanti Gold
Sat 20/03/10 PRL Liberty Profes… 1 – 1 Ashanti Gold
Sat 28/11/09 PRL Ashanti Gold 3 – 0 Liberty Profes…
Sun 17/05/09 PRL Liberty Profes… 0 – 1 Ashanti Gold
Sun 15/03/09 PRL Ashanti Gold 1 – 2 Liberty Profes…
Sat 03/05/08 PRL Ashanti Gold 0 – 0 Liberty Profes…
Wed 12/03/08 PRL Liberty Profes… 2 – 0 Ashanti Gold
Tue 03/04/07 PRL Liberty Profes… 0 – 1 Ashanti Gold
Tue 03/10/06 PRL Ashanti Gold 2 – 1 Liberty Profes…
Aaron Kintoh

Aaron Kintoh

General Manager at Sports News-GH
A hard working and committed person who is also very passionate about sports. Love simple stuff and getting the work done!
Aaron Kintoh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.